CINE honors and champions the creators of exceptional media content. For over 50 years, we have presented the prestigious Golden Eagle Award to hundreds of filmmakers at every level of their careers — from students through seasoned professionals.


The CINE Golden Eagle Award has launched the career of emerging young filmmakers such as Steven Spielberg (1969), Ken Burns (1981), and Pixar Animation (1987); given wings to revolutionary series The Sopranos and Planet Earth; and solidified Martin Scorsese and Barbara Kopple as some of our most respected and celebrated media makers. Recent “alumni” are working throughout the industry at studios and networks and premiering their films at major festivals.


In the 58 years since CINE was founded, the media industry has changed dramatically. So have we.

Explore our revised Golden Eagle Award — now separated into Professional, Emerging/Independent and Student/Youth consideration cycles. And for young composers, we have expanded the Film Scoring Contest — renamed for our friend, the legendary composer Marvin Hamlisch.

Explore More: Who Are You?

I am a
Professional Media Maker

We have expanded our categories and award structure to reflect our ever-changing industry.

With new and streamlined categories for all professional media — regardless of distribution model — the CINE Golden Eagle Award will now be presented in the same 5-nominee / 1-award structure as other top industry honors.

I am an
or emerging filmmaker

In addition to creating a consideration period specifically for up-and-coming media makers, CINE is partnering with important film festivals around the country to honor the best in feature and short filmmaking.

Win a jury prize at a partner event, and you are already considered for nomination!

I am a
Media Maker

YOU are the future of media creation – so let us honor your accomplishments through a consideration cycle created specifically for you. Follow in the footsteps of (then) student filmmakers Robert Zemeckis (Back to the Future), Pete Docter (Up), and Ron Howard (Apollo 13).

For emerging composers, we also present the annual Marvin Hamlisch Film Scoring Contest.