Distinguished Alumni

  • Steven Spielberg

    Steven Spielberg

    Winner, CINE Golden Eagle Award, 1969 for “Amblin’”

    One of Hollywood’s best-known and most accomplished filmmakers, CINE was one of the first to honor Steven Spielberg as a rising star in the film and TV industry with a Golden Eagle in 1969 for his short film “Amblin.'” Mr. Spielberg sits on CINE’s Honorary Board of Directors.

  • Spike Lee

    Spike Lee

    Winner, CINE Golden Eagle Award, 1997

    Spike Lee joints have been exhilarating audiences since his debut feature “She’s Gotta Have It” in 1987. His documentary “4 Little Girls,” detailing the 1963 bombing of the 16th Street Church in Birmingham, Alabama, received a CINE Golden Eagle Award in 1997 and was nominated for an Academy Award.

  • Barbara Kopple

    Barbara Kopple

    Winner, 3 CINE Golden Eagle Awards

    With a diverse career directing for television and film, Barbara Kopple has won two Academy Awards for her  legendary documentaries “Harlan County U.S.A.” and “American Dream” (for which she also received a Golden Eagle Award). She has also received Golden Eagle Awards for “A Century of Women: Work & Family” (1995) and “Bearing Witness” (2005).

  • Matt Groening

    Matt Groening

    Winner, 6 CINE Golden Eagle Awards for “The Simpsons”

    A television staple, “The Simpsons” has aired on Fox for over 25 years. The show has won 6 Golden Eagle Awards, including “The Treehouse of Horrors” specials and the episode “The Simpsons: Behind the Laughter,” a “behind-the-scenes” look at the now-famous Homer, Marge, Bart, Lisa and Maggie.

  • Soledad O’Brien

    Soledad O’Brien

    Winner, 6 CINE Golden Eagle Awards

    An acclaimed journalist who has reported for NBC News, CNN, HBO’s “Real Sports” and Al Jazeera America, Soledad O’Brien has received six Golden Eagle Awards for her extensive reporting and documentary work. In 2016, she received the CINE Leadership Award for her contributions to the media industry.

  • Ken Burns

    Ken Burns

    Winner, CINE Golden Eagle Award, 1981 for “Brooklyn Bridge” (and many others since)

    With his first documentary, “Brooklyn Bridge,” Ken Burns reinvented the genre — and was, as he said in a 2007 interview with CINE, “admitted to the club” of the film and TV industry by winning a CINE Golden Eagle Award. He has created several award-winning documentaries since, and received the CINE Leadership Award in 2003. Mr. Burns sits on CINE’s Honorary Board of Directors.

  • Sheila Nevins

    Sheila Nevins

    Winner, 3 CINE Golden Eagle Awards

    Sheila Nevins is one of the most influential voices in documentary filmmaking. As the president of HBO Documentary Films, her productions have won hundreds of industry awards. In 2003, Ms. Nevins received the CINE Lifetime Achievement Award at the CINE Awards Gala, presented by fellow CINE alum Rory Kennedy.

  • John Lasseter, Pixar

    John Lasseter, Pixar

    Winner, 5 CINE Golden Eagle Awards

    With a bouncing lamp, John Lasseter’s Pixar Animation Studios showed us the future of animation. Now the gold standard of Hollywood storytelling with modern classics “Toy Story,” “Up” and “Wall-E,” it all began with 1987’s Golden Eagle Award-winning “Luxo, Jr.” Pixar would also receive Golden Eagle Awards for their short films “Red’s Dream” (1987), “Tin Toy” (1989), “Knickknack” (1990) and “Geri’s Game” (1998).

  • Jehane Noujaim

    Jehane Noujaim

    Winner, CINE Golden Eagle Award (2005) and CINE Masters Series Award (2006) for “Control Room”

    Jehane Noujaim’s documentary “Control Room” won her wide acclaim and was named CINE’s top independent film of 2005 at the CINE Awards Gala in 2006. Her 2013 documentary “The Square” chronicling the Egyptian revolution was nominated for an Academy Award.

  • Martin Scorsese

    Martin Scorsese

    Winner, CINE Golden Eagle Award, 2006 for “No Direction Home: Bob Dylan”

    One of the most celebrated filmmakers in the entertainment industry, Martin Scorsese’s iconic resume includes the classics “Raging Bull,” “Goodfellas” and “The Departed.” In 2006, he added a CINE Golden Eagle Award to his crowded mantle for directing the documentary “No Direction Home: Bob Dylan.”

  • Mel Brooks
  • Jim Henson
  • Rory Kennedy
  • Mike Nichols
  • Mira Nair
  • Oprah Winfrey
  • Albert Maysles
  • Robert Zemeckis
  • Ron Howard
  • Pete Docter
  • Brad Silberling
  • Stanley Nelson
  • Janusz Kaminski
  • Werner Herzog
  • Martha Coolidge
  • David Chase
  • Morgan Spurlock
  • Mark Burnett
  • Bonnie Hammer
  • Anderson Cooper
  • Ted Turner
  • Debra Chasnoff
  • Christiane Amanpour
  • Fred "Mister" Rogers
  • Dick Ebersol
  • Taylor Hackford
  • Barry Levinson
  • Julie Taymor
  • Diane Sawyer
  • Robert Altman
  • Steve James
  • Charles Guggenheim
  • Davis Guggenheim
  • Michael Apted
  • James L. Brooks
  • Kevin Costner
  • Bryan Fuller
  • Michael A. Simpson
  • Bob Dotson
  • Mike Figgis
  • Gary Fleder
  • John Frankenheimer
  • Chuck Jones
  • George Lucas
  • Paul McCartney
  • Bill Moyers
  • Robert Redford
  • Ridley Scott
  • Barbra Streisand
  • Frederick Wiseman
  • Edward Zwick And Marshall Herskovitz
  • William Hanna and Joseph Barbera
  • Joshua Oppenheimer