Distinguished Jurors

We are pleased to announce the distinguished jurors who will be selecting the 2015 CINE Golden Eagle Awards for Independent & Emerging Media. Our jury is an accomplished group of festival and broadcast programmers and filmmakers who have produced and curated exceptional content recognized throughout the industry. We are grateful to them for sharing their time and expertise, and for their commitment to helping us honor great media.

  • Daniel Sol

    Daniel Sol

    Co-Founder/Co-Director, HollyShorts Film Festival

    With a passion for film and filmmaking since childhood, Daniel decided to move to California in 2000 with an interest in the film business. After working on commercial productions as a production assistant and then acting in various films, he gained an understanding of the filmmaking process. But he also realized that young filmmakers had very little access to industry professionals, and few options for screening their films. And thus, the HollyShorts Film Festival was born. Now, in its ninth year, HollyShorts has quickly become the most influential short film festival in Los Angeles, with Daniel guiding it as Festival Director.

  • Carmen L. Vicencio*

    Carmen L. Vicencio*

    Series Producer, America ReFramed

    Carmen is in charge of American Documentary’s new 26-episode program, America ReFramed. Apart from working closely with the executive producers in programming the year round series, she oversees licensing, production, post production, outreach and engagement, and administration of the show. Discovering filmmaking in college, Carmen‘s built a career in Asia and New York as Assistant Director, Post Production Supervisor, Line Producer, Producer and Director of award-winning short and long-form content for film, TV and digital media.

  • Rick Friedberg*

    Rick Friedberg*


    Rick Friedberg is an award-winning writer/director of movies (Spy Hard), episodic TV (CSI-Miami and Scorpion), reality TV (The Real Housewives of Orange County), documentaries (Rodeo Cowboy, recipient of a CINE Golden Eagle Award), music videos (“Hot for Teacher”), and national and international TV commercials (shown during the Super Bowl, World Series, and NBA playoffs). Rick Friedberg’s “how to” rule book, Hollywood War Stories: How to survive in the trenches is an often funny, enlightening insider’s view on how to break into the world of show business and navigate its shark-infested waters.

  • Mauro Mueller*

    Mauro Mueller*


    Mauro Mueller is a Swiss-Mexican narrative filmmaker with an M.F.A. in Film from Columbia University in New York. His short film Un mundo para Raúl (A World for Raúl) won a Student Academy Award–Oscar® in 2013, as well as prizes at Aspen Shortsfest and New York Shortsfest. His films have screened at 100+ festivals and has won twice the CINE Golden Eagle Award, the Big Beach Best directing award, the IFP Audience Award, and the CINE Special Jury Award. Mauro is the producer of the feature film Copenhagen starring Gethin Anthony (Game of Thrones).

  • Joanne Feinberg

    Joanne Feinberg


    Joanne Feinberg was Director of Programming for the Ashland Independent Film Festival in Ashland, Oregon from 2008 through the 2015 festival. She is a Tisch School of the Arts graduate in Cinema Studies and Film Production. She spent 15 years editing and producing award-winning documentaries and commercial projects in NYC and San Francisco. She has been on the juries of numerous festivals, and is a member of the Nominating Committee for the Cinema Eye Honors. She recently formed FeinFilms, “Curating, Cutting & Consulting” for a variety of clients and projects.

  • Kurt Kuenne*

    Kurt Kuenne*


    Kurt Kuenne is an award-winning filmmaker and composer of both fiction and documentary films. He is a graduate of the USC School of Cinematic Arts, where he won the Harold Lloyd Scholarship in Film Editing, and where he also studied film scoring at the USC School of Music. In 2008, he completed his 6 year passion project, the documentary “Dear Zachary: a letter to a son about his father”, which premiered at the Slamdance Film Festival and won a CINE Masters Series Award. He is the writer/editor of the new documentary “Batkid Begins.”

  • Luke Randall*

    Luke Randall*


    Luke Randall is an Australian born filmmaker and animator with a skill set that spans all aspects of production. His films struck a chord with audiences, having been viewed over 1.5 million times online and at festivals around the world. Notably they have also won numerous awards, screened in academy award qualifying competition and in the National Film Board’s competition at Cannes. In addition, he has also been nominated for Australia’s highest filmmaking honor, an AFI award and created animation for many of Dreamworks Animation’s feature films. Luke currently resides in Los Angeles, California.

  • Tracy Droz Tragos*

    Tracy Droz Tragos*

    Documentary Filmmaker

    Tracy Droz Tragos is an award-wining independent filmmaker. With RICH HILL, Tragos explored rural poverty through the intimate lens of vulnerable adolescents and their families struggling for a foothold. RICH HILL won the Grand Jury Prize for U.S. Documentary at the 2014 Sundance Film Festival and was distributed on PBS’ Independent Lens. Her first film was the CINE Golden Eagle-Award winning BE GOOD, SMILE PRETTY, a powerful film about the profound and complicated feelings of loss caused by the deaths of American men in Vietnam, some thirty-five years later. 

  • Garry Denny

    Garry Denny

    Director of Programming, Wisconsin Public Television

    Garry Denny is the director of programming for Wisconsin Public Television (WPT), and is responsible for the acquisition, scheduling and delivery of programming services on WPT’s six-station network. Denny has served as the president of the Public Television Programmers Association. Denny is currently serving a 3-year term on the board of directors of ITVS.

  • Deirdre Haj

    Deirdre Haj

    Director, Full Frame Documentary Film Festival

    In her position at Full Frame, Deirdre created the free year-round screening series and PNC Roadshow as well as the “Teach the Teachers” program and lending library, “The School of Doc” and the “A&E IndieFilms Speakeasy” discussion venue. Under her leadership the festival is now a PGA qualifying festival for both long and short form documentary films, as well as an Oscar qualifying festival for short form documentary.

*CINE Award-winning Alumni

CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY: CINE is committed to complete transparency in our awards selection process. No juror will evaluate material or help select finalists and award recipients in categories in which he or she, or his or her employer, has eligible content.

The juror list is up-to-date as of June 29, 2015. Jurors are subject to change.