Distinguished Jurors

We are pleased to announce the distinguished jurors who will be selecting the 59th CINE Golden Eagle Awards for Professional, Independent & Emerging, and Student & Youth Media. Our jury is an accomplished group of industry executives, academics and filmmakers who have produced and curated exceptional content recognized throughout the industry. We are grateful to them for sharing their time and expertise, and for their commitment to helping us honor great media.

  • Christopher Greenleaf*

    Christopher Greenleaf*

    Executive Director of Content Development & Entertainment Partnership, Charm School

    Chris Greenleaf is currently the Executive Director of Content Development and Entertainment Partnerships for Charm School. Chris’s experience also extends well into the realm of Hollywood where he has executive produced, created and developed television programming for networks such as MTV, Oxygen, USA, CMT, NBC and served as a development executive for Viacom, CBS and Comedy Central, where he was instrumental in the launch of the hit animated series “South Park.”

  • Gabriela Cocco-Sanchez

    Gabriela Cocco-Sanchez

    Vice President, Latin, Bunim-Murray Productions

    Gabriela Cocco-Sanchez is a accomplished creative executive with over 15 years experience in TV Programming, content development and production, live events, talent scouting and general management. She’s earned a reputation as a strategic thinker whose versatility and business savvy have enabled her to successfully launch multiple properties for major record labels, networks and digital media companies. Prior to joining BMP, Gabriela served as Vice President and Studio Chief of Phunware Studios.

  • Amanda Pope*

    Amanda Pope*

    Filmmaker and Professor of Cinematic Arts, USC

    Director Amanda Pope’s directing, producing, writing, and editing credits over her more than 20 year long career include award-winning documentary, dramatic, and social advocacy programs. Most recently she directed The Desert of Forbidden Art, co-directed, produced and written with Tchavdar Georgiev, broadcast in 2011 on PBS Independent Lens and honored with two nominations at the 33rd Annual Emmy News & Documentary awards and CINE’s Masters Award for Excellence in Independent Filmmaking.

  • Bob Dotson*

    Bob Dotson*

    NBC News Today Show National Correspondent

    Bob Dotson has been in more motel rooms than the Gideon Bible, crisscrossing this country, four million miles, practically non-stop, for forty years, searching for people who are practically invisible, the ones who change our lives, but don’t take time to Twitter and tell us about it. Dotson’s long running series, “The American Story with Bob Dotson,” is a regular feature on “Today,”  and his third book American Story, a Lifetime Search for Ordinary People Doing Extraordinary Things is a New York Times Best Seller. He has also received more than 100 awards for his work in broadcast journalism.

  • Donald H. Thoms*

    Donald H. Thoms*

    CINE President Emeritus

    A former CINE president, Donald H. Thoms recently oversaw editorial development and production for programs in the Arts, Performance, Drama, Lifestyle and Cultural areas at PBS. Donald also works with independent producers, and programs and projects surrounding diversity. Mr. Thoms is a multi-award winning producer, director, journalist, and executive producer. He has overseen the production of thousand of hours of television content and managed staffs and major budgets for Maryland Public Television, PBS and Discovery Communications.

  • Mary Nelson

    Mary Nelson

    Deputy Director, Virginia Film Office

    Mary Nelson, Deputy Director for the Virginia Film Office, spent the first part of her career working at theatres in Milwaukee, San Diego, Tucson, Denver and Richmond. She has worked with the Film Office for more than 20 years, and, in addition to her Deputy Director responsibilities, she is staff writer and researcher and works with film related organizations such as the Virginia Film Festival, the Virginia Production Alliance and the DC chapter of Women in Film and Video. She is a past president of the Association of Film Commissioners International.

  • Thom Gonyeau*

    Thom Gonyeau*

    Principal/Executive Producer, Mountain View Group

    Thom Gonyeau is principal and co-owner of Mountain View Group, a creative & strategic communications agency founded in 1981 and based in Atlanta and New York. Gonyeau acts as Executive Producer, working with leaders at GE, The Coca-Cola Company, Alcon, Raytheon, and Cox Automotive and many other organizations in developing their communication and messaging strategies, as well as integrating media and design tools with digital distribution channels. Gonyeau’s work has won several national and international awards.

  • Arya Surowidjojo*

    Arya Surowidjojo*

    Documentary Filmmaker

    Born in Indonesia, Arya Surowidjojo is a documentary filmmaker with special interest in society and human rights topics. Since January 2014, Arya has been a development and field producer for IFA Media, one of Asia’s premier factual, drama and branded content creators.

  • Lisa Samford

    Lisa Samford

    Executive Director, Jackson Hole Film Festival

    Lisa Samford left a career in journalism to become a documentary filmmaker, specializing in difficult and remote expedition projects. She has filmed across five continents on a diverse collection of projects exploring topics ranging from violent crime, espionage, and ethnographic/scientific exploration to intimate portraits of author Wallace Stegner, conservation pioneer Mardy Murie, and His Holiness the Dalai Lama. Executive Director of the internationally renowned Jackson Hole Wildlife Film Festival since 2002, Samford holds BS and MA degrees in Communication.


  • Mark Kendall*

    Mark Kendall*


    Mark Kendall a 2014 Guggenheim Fellow in Film/Video whose first film, La Camioneta (2012) was selected by Stephen Holden as a New York Times’ Critics Pick and was one of IndieWire’s “Top Docs of 2013.” He received a B.A. (2005) and M.A. (2008) from Vanderbilt University and an M.F.A. (2011) from the School of Visual Arts, and his work has appeared at numerous national and international venues, including the National Gallery of Art, the Museum of Fine Arts in Houston, the Festival Internacional de Cine en Guadalajara and the SXSW Film Festival.

  • Andrew Ames*
  • Erica Arvold
  • Monica Lee Bellais
  • Dara Bratt
  • Matthew Cohen
  • Kieran Dick
  • Marek Dojs
  • Brad Dryborough*
  • Harriet Gordon Getzels*
  • Peter Getzels*
  • Len Kamerling*
  • Averill Kronick*
  • Ward LeHardy*
  • Melinda Levin*
  • Bernard "Barney" R. McCoy
  • John Metherell*
  • Jay P. Parikh
  • Joshua Pies*
  • Alan Rettig*
  • William Simon*
  • Douglas Sloan*
  • Daniel Sol
  • Maggie Burnette Stogner*
  • Mathew Tombers
  • Laszlo L. Ujvari*
  • Elise Warner*
  • Joel Westbrook*
  • Antonio Zarro*

*CINE Award-winning Alumni

CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY: CINE is committed to complete transparency in our awards selection process. No juror will evaluate material or help select finalists and award recipients in any categories in which he or she, or his or her employer, has eligible content.

The juror list is up-to-date as of April 26, 2016. Jurors may be subject to change.